Rio medallists, former champs and ex-#1s court glory at 2018 Crown Group Australian Badminton Open in the inaugural World Tour Super 300 tournament

Sydney, 17 April 2018 - Badminton Australia has announced the player line-up for the 2018 Crown Group Australian Badminton Open. The first HSBC BWF World Tour Super 300 tournament in Australia is one of only two World Tour events in Oceania and will be held from 08 to 13 May at Quaycentre Sydney Olympic Park.

Badminton Australia Board Member and Tournament Director, Loke Poh Wong, was quick to point out the superstars soon to arrive on Sydney's shores. “Saina Nehwal from India, Chai Biao from China, and Yoo Yeon Seong from Korea are proof that the Open in Sydney has lots of star power. We'll be putting up a good show for badminton fans."

Title Sponsor Crown Group CEO, Paul Sathio, himself an avid fan of the sport, said, "Sydney is an important market for the Crown Group and it's great that Sydney is the home of the new World Tour Super 300 tournament. Crown Group is excited to help grow this popular sport in Australia by supporting the Open. We look forward to the world-class competition ahead."

The 2018 tournament will be broadcasted to more than 120 million homes globally.

Tickets to the Crown Group Australian Badminton Open start at just $15 with the 3-day platinum finals package at $160.  Tickets can be purchased online at: with spots to watch the finals expected to sell out fast.

A limited number of corporate seats are available for public purchase. For corporate ticketing, contact Badminton Australia (03) 9397 4722.




NSW, QLD, VIC, and ACT are the strongest local contenders for the 2018 Australian Badminton Open. 

Queenland's Wendy Chen is the undefeated women's singles Oceania champion since 2015 and was our Olympian at Rio de Janeiro.

Our leading light in men's singles hails from ACT. Anthony Joe represented Australia at the 2017 Sudirman Cup.

In women's doubles, Gronya Somerville / Setyana Mapasa are currently world ranked #22 and were at a career high in 2017. They continue to improve strongly, having pushed the world #2 Danish pair deep into the rubber game at the 2018 All England.

In mixed doubles, Setyana Mapasa / Sawan Serasinghe are world ranked #38 and looking to better their grand prix runner-up placing at the 2017 New Zealand Open.

All these players represented Australia at the recent Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast.


Women's Singles:

Wendy Chen (QLD)

Jennifer Tam (NSW)


Men's Singles:

Anthony Joe (ACT)


Women's Doubles:

Gronya Somerville (VIC) / Setyana Mapasa (NSW)

Wendy Chen (QLD) / Sylvina Kurniawan (NSW)


Men's Doubles:

Anthony Joe (ACT) / Pit Seng Low (NSW)

Raymond Tam (NSW) / Eric Vuong (VIC)


Mixed Doubles:

Setyana Mapasa (NSW) / Sawan Serasinghe (VIC)



2014 Commonwealth Games champion Michelle Li is a strong contender for the women’s singles title after two Grand Prix level runner-up standings last year.



Men’s doubles former world number 2, Chai Biao, spearheads China’s strength throughout every doubles categories. Recent top 10 players in both women’s and mixed doubles, Li Yinhui and Huang Dongping, have split into newer partnerships for Sydney. 



India arrive as favourites in both singles categories.

Saina Nehwal is one of only two women who has won the Australian Superseries twice. She also took the women's singles title at the recent 2018 Commonwealth Games in April. With a World Championship silver and Olympic bronze under her belt as well, she is the one to beat.

This year’s Indian men’s side also boasts Superseries winner Sai Praneeth, Superseries runners-up Ajay Jayaram and Sameer Verma, three time Grand Prix Gold winner HS Prannoy, and former top 10 star Kashyap Parupalli.



The Indonesians shall provide formidable opposition to Korea’s ambitions in all doubles categories.

Women’s doubles former world #2 Nitya Krishninda Maheswari was a 2016 Australian Superseries runner-up. In 2018, she’s formed a duo with current number 13 Ni Ketut Mahadewi Istarani.

Last year’s Australian mixed doubles runner-up and 2016 All England champion Debby Susanto is appearing with former men’s doubles Singapore Superseries champion Ricky Karanda Suwardi in Sydney this time.

Depth and experience in men’s singles is provided by former Superseries champion Tommy Sugiarto and former World Championship silver medallist Sony Dwi Kuncoro.



Japan’s squad is one of the largest with no less than seven competitors in each of men’s and women’s singles.

Former top 10 player and French Superseries champion Minatsu Mitani is the veteran among a young cast out to make a name for themselves especially in women’s doubles.



Last year’s surprise Sudirman Cup champions Korea are returning to Australia with a sizeable contingent.

Sudirman hero Choi Solgyu, who featured in the Sudirman final in both men’s and the critical mixed doubles, will be trying out a fresh partnership with last year’s mixed world #1 Kim Ha Na.



Increasing the star power further is last year’s men’s doubles runner-up Tan Boon Heong switching up his Indonesian partner for a Korean one who is none other than twice Australian Superseries champion Yoo Yeon Seong.

World #8 Shevon Jemie Lai / Goh Soon Huat are the established pair to beat in mixed doubles.

Not to be outshone, compatriots Goh Liu Ying / Chan Peng Soon are the most experienced mixed pair in the draw. Their career has had several peaks including the 2018 Thailand Masters title, Rio Olympic silver, 2012 Japan Superseries winner, and 2010 Commonwealth Games champion. 



The Thais will be vying with India for men’s singles podium rights. Their team includes a former Superseries Premier champion in Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk and current World Junior Champion Kunlavut Vitidsarn.