Player draw promises thrills & controversy as World's best prepare for the 2017 Crown Group Australian Badminton Open

Tournament confirms that men’s and women’s singles player draw will feature all Rio 2016 Olympic medal winners and all World Top Ten ranked players.

After much anticipation, following the announcement that the sport’s powerhouse nations would be well represented this year, Badminton Australia has announced the competition draw for the 2017 Crown Group Australian Badminton Open (#CrownGroupABO). Included in the roster are all gold and silver medallists from the 2016 Rio Games in all five badminton disciplines.

Today the main and qualifying draws have been revealed for this month’s Open, which is Sydney’s last badminton Superseries event. The Open, which falls right in the middle of the Superseries season, promises a number of exciting matches from 20 to 25 June which feature Olympic Champions, World Champions, crowd favourites, ambitious newcomers, all five Australian Olympians and the best of the next generation of players.

Participating in the men’s singles matches this year are the World’s Top Ten players and 16 Superseries winners. The first round (Day 1) will deliver much excitement as two of the sport’s marquee players, Lin Dan (CHN) and Viktor Axelsen (DEN) face off so early in the tournament. Fans will be keenly anticipating which of the champions will stay on and which will leave, as Lin Dan plans to reverse his 2015 Australian Open first round loss to Viktor Axelsen. Chen Long (CHN) will compete against Wong Wing Ki (HKG). Jan O Jorgensen (DEN) will face Anthony Ginting (INA).

Quarter-final and semi-final ticket holders may see Chen Long play the man referred to as the sport’s “all-time greatest player” Lin Dan, followed by a rematch of the 2016 Rio Games final with Lee Chong Wei (MAS). Keen supporters of Lee Chong Wei will be anxious for the record-holding winner of 43 Superseries titles – particularly as he has yet to take home the Australian trophy. Spectators can also hope for the alternative semi-final of Lin Dan versus Lee Chong Wei in a rivalry that stretches back 13 years.

The women’s singles matches, featuring the World’s Top Ten players and 10 Superseries winners, promise much drama as the current title holder Saina Nehwal (IND) faces Sung Ji Hyun (KOR) in the first round. Reigning World and Olympic champion Carolina Marin (ESP) will also face stiff competition as she plays against the 2016 All England champion Nozomi Okuhara (JPN).

Women’s singles aficionados will enjoy the challenging match scheduled for Thursday, 22 June when World No. 1 Tai Tzu Ying (TPE) faces the 2013 World Champion Ratchanok Intanon (THA). The player to survive this match will earn the pleasure of competing against 2016 Rio Games silver medallist PV Sindhu (IND).

The men’s doubles competition includes six of the World’s Top Ten and five Superseries winning pairs. The first round will feature World No. 1 team Marcus Fernaldi Gideon (INA) / Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo (INA) versus Ong Yew Sin (MAS) / Teo Ee Yi (MAS). There is potential for the semi-final to feature the World’s No. 1 team of Gideon / Sukamuljo playing 2016 Rio Games silver medallists Goh V Shem (MAS) / Tan Wee Kiong (MAS) who held the World No. 1 spot earlier in 2017.

In the women’s doubles matches this year, nine of the World’s Top Ten and 10 Superseries winning teams will be competing. In the first round Huang Dongping (CHN) / Li Yinhui (CHN), will be keen to secure their first Superseries title as they compete against the 2017 Malaysia Superseries Premier champions Yuki Fukushima (JPN) / Sayaka Hirota (JPN). Defending champion Bao Yixin (CHN) has reunited with Tang Jinhua (CHN) in a former World No. 1 partnership to face 2016 Rio Games bronze medallists Jung Kyung Eun (KOR) / Shin Seung Chan (KOR).

The mixed doubles field, considered the least predictable badminton discipline, will feature all of the World’s Top Ten teams, including seven Superseries winning pairs. The first round will showcase 2016 Rio Games champions Liliyana Natsir (INA) / Tontowi Ahmad (INA) versus Lai Pei Jing (MAS) / Tan Kian Meng (MAS).

Check out the draws here!

Or you can buy the tickets right now here!